THANK YOU!

Well, I am just about recovered from our amazing exhibition @ BLOC Projects and I wanted to say THANK YOU to a bunch of people and organisations who have made this year wonderful ❤

Thank you –  National Lottery Big Fund for awarding us funding that meant we could pay for a nice, cosy space where people were able to keep their work and come back to it in the following weeks. We were warm and always had space! It meant we could keep refreshments stocked up, invest in materials and pay some awesome local creatives to design sessions and it allowed me to work part time on it and cut my hours in hospitality. I can’t explain how much better it was not to have to balance a full time job and sessions and life!

CADS – for being a great support in acquiring funding, providing us with space and a chance.

Creatives – Kelli, Ellie – Handmade Cinema, Laura – Doodle Monkey, Hannah, Lisa – D.o.S, Rebekah, Anna, George, Charley, thank you for sharing your skills, time and hearts with us. you helped us stitch, stick, draw, paint, record, marble and collage our war through about 45 sessions! (Free hand has run over 100 in total)

Hannah and Tori – Amazing additions to the Free Hand team! Thank you for sharing the load and investing a piece of yourselves into the project, you’ve help make Free Hand what it is today.

ALL the people who have attended sessions, well… it’s even harder to put into words how much you all mean to me that you came to sessions, made incredible artwork and let me be a part of that process, it’s been heart warming and and inspiring. Thank you for allowing me to get to know you all and in some cases become friends. We have laughed and cried together and it means so much to me. Two and a half years and you are the stars of the show! I’m so glad we’ve been able to put on this exhibition and so others could see the amazing things you’ve made, have a peek into your worlds and find out more about mental health.

BLOC Projects – For believing in us and providing us with a beautiful space. In honesty finding a space wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I felt so downhearted before meeting with David at BLOC, I was met there with interest and enthusiasm. BLOC have been amazing to work with, check out their upcoming exhibitions and show these amazing people support.

I’m so grateful! Thank you everyone who has contributed in any way, shape, or form. It means the world to me. I’ve connected with people on a deep level through creating and its the reason why I believe, community art is one of the most important ways of expression and feeling connected.

 

 

Leave a Reply

